Differentiated Instruction for Math & Science

 Image of science beakers  Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License by Peter Shanks Math and Science can be areas in which students love and thrive in or dislike and struggle in. During my student teaching I had the opportunity to teach a geometry unit in a second grade class and a science unit in a fourth/fifth grade class. In both experiences I worked with students that had different readiness levels in the content area I was teaching. Therefore, when designing my units I focused on differentiating my instruction and assignments to meet the varying readiness levels and learning styles.

The following documents are the goals and objectives from both units which show which cognitive level and learning style each objective met.

Second Grade Geometry Unit: Goals and Objectives 

Fourth/Fifth Grade Science Unit: Goals and Objectives 

Leave a comment