Sir Ken Robinson: Do Schools Kill Creativity?

To create is the highest level of the cognitive domains in Bloom’s Taxonomy. Although all levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy are important in student learning, I believe that students should be given ample time to create when learning a new concept or to apply their new learning.

As an educator my goal is to move my students’ cognitive level throughout a unit. Most often I begin at the lower cognitive levels and by the end of the unit have students applying, analyzing and creating. My strength as an educator is creating assignments in which students have to think critically and problem solve. I believe that when students’ problems solve on their own or in groups they are more likely to gain and maintain that information. Problem solving is also using one’s own creativity since the student in a way that suites them. I believe that when students are not given the opportunity to use their creativity they lose out on building understanding that is relevant to them.

Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk on creativity emphasizes an education that nurtures students’ creativity.

Leave a comment